Mrs Williams

Its been too long

on 31/05/2012

I am so sorry that it has been nearly two months since I blogged. But what a couple of months it has been!!!

When last writing I was in the middle of putting together my dissertation. The final 10,000 words for my degree. That was, honestly, one of the most horrible experiences of my university life, as being an extrovert, I dont cope well with long days sat at home attempting to write about stuff I dont fully understand!! But its done, and my degree is done, and within a couple of weeks I should know whether or not I’ve passed and then life begins I suppose.

So in a bid to put off the real life stuff (and to do lots of other fun stuff) the other reason I havent blogged is that Matt and I spent two and a half weeks in the USA. The initial reason for the trip was that I was Maid of Honour at the wedding of one of my very best friends in Atlanta. So we flew in for 3 days, fitted in a bridal shower and the rehearsal/rehearsal dinner and then went to the wedding. We had a wonderful few days and it was great to see someone I love so much looking so very happy! Carla is the nearest thing i’ve had to a sister, until I gained 3 lovely sisters-in-law last year, so it was a very happy day!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we got to fly up to Spokane, which is where Matt’s two brothers live with their wives and our two super-cute nephews and one soon-to-be-born niece! We had two wonderful weeks with them, and it was so lovely for me to see Matt with his brothers. Matt is not the most naturally outgoing of people, so there is a side of him that I see but that is not evident with most other people. Not that he’s ever fake with people, just a bit reserved. So to see him with his family, at his most comfortable, was wonderful, and helped me to feel much more comfortable with them, although I didnt really know most of them before we went. It was also great to get to be Uncle Matt and Aunty Becca for a bit!!

One of the highlights of the trip for me was that Matt and I chose to take a couple of days out by ourselves and drive over to Montana which is two states over from where we were staying. A couple of our friends had visited a national park over there last summer and it looked like somewhere we shouldnt miss if we were nearby. Add that to the fact that I flippin’ love a good road trip, and we were golden! The drive took around 7 hours, and it was great to see some of the country and enjoy the views. However, Glacier National Park was our main attraction, and boy was it worth the drive. There are few times in my life that natural beauty has impacted me as profoundly as this did, but it was just incredible. Within moments of arriving we were greeted with the view below, and were both overwhelmed with the need to get on our knees to thank God and praise him for this incredible beauty! A genuinely life altering experience!!

 

But now we’re back in real life…which sucks! Now that I’m done with uni it’s time to find a job, and that is turning out to be a bit of a soul destroying experience in some ways. Aside from that, we’ve spent all our money in the states, so now I’m spending ever day just sitting at home, mostly crocheting a blanket to fill the time. Fun fun fun!! I dont cope well with nothingness, I found myself getting seriously fed up last summer when we got back from honeymoon to nothing, and ended up taking a crappy admin job for the summer to fill the time! I am WELL aware that once I do have a job I’ll long for these days, but right now I’m pretty bored and waiting for life to start! Hence there doesnt seem to be tons to blog about, but I am attempting to brew a Thrifty Thursday post for later…watch this space!!

 

 

 

One response to “Its been too long

  1. Mel Wiggins says:

    YAY! You’re back! Looks like a fabby holiday! xo

Leave a Reply

